Suggested Web Sites for Using Media Literacy and Primary Sources for Teaching Health in the Classroom

 

Exisiting Lesson Plans:

This section provides a variety of media literacy lesson materials for teaching Health. These resources are categorized by topic.

ADVERTISING

Media Smart http://www.mediasmart.org.uk/resources/beadwise/

NUTRITION AND GENERAL HEALTH

Glencoe Teacher Resources http://www.glencoe.com/sec/health/teachres/lessonplans/mlexercise.shtml

Teach Nutrition http://ontario.teachnutrition.org/teacher-programs/grade-levels/4-6/power-to-explore/program-overview.aspx

Youth Empowerment in Action! http://www.healthymissouri.net/curriculum.html

Kids Health in the Classroom http://classroom.kidshealth.org/index.jsp?Grade=68&Section=personal

Action for Media Education http://action4mediaeducation.org/article-rj001.html

BODY IMAGE AND GENDER

Body Image Health http://bodyimagehealth.org/healthy-bodies-curriculum/

Safe Healthy Schools http://www.safehealthyschools.org/sexualityeducation/43.htm

About-Face http://www.about-face.org/educate-yourself/for-adult-advocates/our-workshops/#.UajI0kCThqX

Queen Victoria Women’s Centre http://www.qvwc.org.au/programs/seeme-media-literacy/

Girls Inc. http://www.girlsinc.org/resources/programs/girls-inc-media-literacy.html

Robert Crown Centers for Health Education http://www.robertcrown.org/expressYourself.shtml

Girls Empowerment Network: Austin http://genaustin.org/what-we-do/

Girlology http://www.girlology.com/programs/what-we-offer-for-girls

University of Washington: Let’s Talk Teens, Sexuality, & Media http://depts.washington.edu/sexmedia/educators/stdhiv/resources.php

University of Washington: Teen Aware: Sex, Media and You http://depts.washington.edu/taware/view.cgi?section=s1

Innovation Research & Training http://irtinc.us/Products/MediaReady/Training.aspx

Tri-County Health Department http://www.tchd.org/pdfs/05_media.pdf

Thirteen: Peaceful Solutions http://www.thirteen.org/peaceful/wkspd.html

Websites:

This section provides websites on different aspects of health to supplement lessons.

BODY IMAGE AND GENDER

Media Power Youth http://www.mediapoweryouth.org/resources.html

Massachusetts Media Literacy Consortium http://www.massmedialiteracy.org/

University of Michigan Health System http://www.med.umich.edu/yourchild/topics/media.htm

Center on Media and Child Healthhttp://www.cmch.tv/

Parent Further http://www.parentfurther.com/technology-media

ADVERTISING

PBS Kids http://pbskids.org/dontbuyit/advertisingtricks/whatsinanad_pepsi.html

NUTRITION

Food Marketing Workgroup http://www.foodmarketing.org/resources/food-marketing-in-restaurants/

Action for Media Education http://nutritionandmedia.org/index.html

Food Sleuth, LLC: Media Literacy & Advocacy for Nutrition & Health Education http://nycnen.org/pdf/mlrrc.pdf

Teen Futures Media Network http://depts.washington.edu/thmedia/view.cgi?section=bodyimage&page=resources

BODY IMAGE AND GENDER

Sports Medicine Australia: Cleanedge http://www.cleanedge.com.au/Content/Pub/ContentDetail.asp?lngContentID=406

Our Bodies Ourselves http://www.ourbodiesourselves.org/book/links.asp?id=1&topicID=59

Girl Scouts http://www.girlscouts.org/who_we_are/advocacy/watchwhatyouwatch/healthymedia.asp

Kesa Kivel http://www.kesakivel.com/pages/links.html

Media Smarts http://mediasmarts.ca/body-image/body-image-boys

The Achilles Effect http://www.achilleseffect.com/2011/02/boys-masculinity-superheroes-good-or-bad-influence/

SMOKING AND SUBSTANCE USE

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration http://www.toosmarttostart.samhsa.gov/families/media/whyimportant.aspx

North Carolina Preventing Underage Drinking Initiative http://www.ncpud.org/mediaReady/prevention.php

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention http://www.cdc.gov/

 

Articles and Blogs:

Below are supplemental documents on a variety of different health topics.

NUTRITION

Center for Media Literacy http://www.medialit.org/reading-room/cml-pilots-media-literacy-unit-obesity-nutrition-education

University of Minnesota Extension http://blog.lib.umn.edu/extyouth/insight/2011/03/media-alert-influence-possible.php

BODY IMAGE AND GENDER

The Body Pacifist http://thebodypacifist.wordpress.com/

Adios Barbie http://www.beautyredefined.net/tv-boosts-self-esteem-if-youre-white-and-male/

Beauty Redefined http://www.beautyredefined.net/tv-boosts-self-esteem-if-youre-white-and-male/

Ebony http://www.ebony.com/news-views/beyond-stereotypes-media-literacy-program-helps-black-males-challenge-the-media#axzz2UgecULba

Media Literacy Week http://www.medialiteracyweek.ca/en/press_articles09_authentication.htm

SMOKING AND SUBSTANCE USE

Living http://fyiliving.com/mental-health/relationships/parenting/media-education-helps-kids-just-say-no/

Media Literacy Project http://medialiteracyproject.org/blog/same-old-smoke-and-mirrors

AlterNet http://www.alternet.org/story/12805/unlikely_bedfellows%3A_media_literacy_and_anti-drug_education

VIOLENCE AND BULLYING

Together Against Violence http://togetheragainstviolence.wordpress.com/2011/07/26/got-media-literacy-who-gets-to-decide-when-humour-crosses-the-line/

Videos and Flims:

Buy Me That: Kid’s Survival Guide to TV Advertising

Buy Me That Too

Buy Me That 3

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d7VNFO4ksCE

Youth Speak Out International

The University of Rhode Island Harrington School of Communication and Media http://mediaeducationlab.com/media-literacy-and-prescription-drugs

Big Bucks, Big Pharma: Marketing Disease & Pushing Drugs http://redpill.tv/big-bucks-big-pharma-marketing-disease-pushing-drugs/

Girls: Moving Beyond Myth http://www.mediaed.org/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=231

Beauty Mark: Body Image & the Race for Perfection http://www.mediaed.org/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=236

Slim Hopes http://www.jeankilbourne.com/videos/

BodyTalk http://thebodypositive.org/materials/

Body Image For Boys http://ffh.films.com/id/4589/FFHCollections.aspx

Tough Guise: Violence, Media and the Crisis in Masculinity http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xwu5r3_tough-guise-violence-media-and-the-crisis-in-masculinity_tech

Books:

Opitz, Michael F., Literacy Lessons To Help Kids Get Fit & Healthy, Scholastic Inc., 2010. http://www.amazon.com/Literacy-Lessons-Help-Kids-Healthy/dp/0545163242

The Metropolitan Toronto School Board, Responding to Media Violence: Starting Points for Classroom Practice, Pembroke Publishers Limited, 1998. http://www.amazon.com/Responding-Media-Violence-Starting-Classroom/dp/1551380919/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1398364046&sr=1-1&keywords=responding+to+media+violence+starting+point

Schaefer, Valorie. The Care and Keeping of You: The Body Book for Younger Girls, Revised Edition, American Girl, 2012. http://www.amazon.com/The-Care-Keeping-You-Younger/dp/1609580834/ref=pd_bxgy_b_img_y